Shattered: White Boy Rick

Shattered: White Boy Rick
White Boy Rick
Shattered Presents: Crimetown
Jan 10 • 31 min
We’re hard at work on our next season of Shattered. In the meantime, though, we think you’ll like this episode of another show we’re fans of. Welcome to Crimetown. Each season they investigate the culture of crime in a different city. In Season 2,…
Shattered Presents: Mismatch
Jan 3 • 30 min
As we prepare for the release of Shattered’s Season 3, we’re excited to share one of our favorite stories from the new season of our another podcast from Graham Media, Mismatch.Hosted by veteran reporter Roger Weber, Mismatch features stories about the…
Introducing Shattered: Season 3
Dec 27, 2018 • 3 min
Jeremy Allen, host of season 1, is joined by Kevin Dietz, host of season 2, to announce the subject of Shattered: Season 3 coming in 2019.Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram as we get closer to the release. Have a happy and healthy new year!
Introducing Shattered, Season 2 – White Boy Rick
Sep 7, 2018 • 3 min
Welcome to Season 2 of Shattered. When he was 14 years-old, Rick Wershe, Jr. became one of the youngest FBI informants in American history. The inside information he provided led to the downfall of some of Detroit’s biggest drug dealers. Once the FBI no…
White Boy Rick, Chapter 1 – Like Father, Like Son
Sep 6, 2018 • 30 min
Chapter 1 – Like Father, Like Son: In 1984, crack cocaine is becoming an epidemic in Detroit. Several African-American drug gangs are battling each other for territory. On the east side of the city, a white teenager is about to find himself at the center…
White Boy Rick, Chapter 2 – Summer Job
Sep 6, 2018 • 24 min
Chapter 2 – Summer Job: To get inside information on the local drug trade, Rick has to do more than watch from the outside. But it’s not as simple as just heading up to the local crack house with cash in hand. He needs to be known as someone who can be…
White Boy Rick, Chapter 3 – Fight Night in Vegas
Sep 6, 2018 • 24 min
Chapter 3 – Fight Night in Vegas: When the police keep raiding drug houses rife with cash and cocaine, the Currys don’t think it’s simply bad luck for them or great work by the police. They suspect there is a rat in the organization and they want it…
White Boy Rick, Chapter 4 – I’m No Cocaine Kingpin
Sep 6, 2018 • 30 min
Chapter 4 – I’m No Cocaine Kingpin: Rick has given the feds enough information for them to start prosecuting the Curry’s. Out of a job, Rick charts a new path with the skills he’s accumulated from the government.
White Boy Rick, Chapter 5 – Operation Backbone
Sep 6, 2018 • 25 min
Chapter 5 – Operation Backbone: From behind bars, Rick is asked to inform again as part of Operation Backbone, an FBI sting that aims to catch dirty Detroit cops.
White Boy Rick, Chapter 6 – Inspector Todd
Sep 6, 2018 • 22 min
Chapter 6 – Inspector Todd: Rick says the reason he’s been languishing in prison for so long has a lot to do with one man, Gil Hill. Hill was the head the Detroit Police Department’s Homicide Unit and he also played the part of a cop in the Beverly Hills…
White Boy Rick, Chapter 7 – Kid Rock and White Boy Rick
Sep 6, 2018 • 31 min
Chapter 7 – Kid Rock and White Boy Rick: Rick is granted his first parole hearing in 15 years. Kid Rock shows up to testify on his behalf. Rick thinks he has a chance at parole. But a letter from then Wayne County Prosecutor (and current Mayor of…
White Boy Rick, Chapter 8 – Just Call Me Rick
Sep 6, 2018 • 27 min
Chapter 8 – Just Call Me Rick With Hollywood making a movie about his life and some positive signs coming from the new Wayne County Prosecutor, Rick thinks he might have a shot at parole. As that’s happening - before he was sent to prison, before he sold…
~~Introducing Shattered, Season 1 – Black Friday~~
Apr 14, 2018 • 2 min
Welcome to Shattered, a new true-crime podcast from WDIV in Detroit. Season 1 chronicles the young Skelton brothers’ disappearance on Black Friday, 2010. The mystery of what happened to the boys remains open, with their small Michigan hometown wondering -…
Black Friday, Chapter 1 – Shattered
Apr 14, 2018 • 30 min
Season 1, Chapter 1: The Skeltons, a family of 5, once whole and together has been shattered. John, the father, begins acting erratically and eventually pushes mom, Tanya, too far. But he’s not done there. His anger toward Tanya leads to the eventual…
Black Friday, Chapter 2 – Irreversible
Apr 14, 2018 • 31 min
Season 1, Chapter 2: Andrew, Alexander and Tanner are missing. But before their dad, John, made them vanish, a storm was brewing between him and his wife, Tanya. Tanya gives us a glimpse into life with John before Black Friday 2010.
Black Friday, Chapter 3 – Maze Runners
Apr 14, 2018 • 30 min
Season 1, Chapter 3: John Skelton sits alone in a cell, with all the answers locked away deep inside his mind. Chief Larry Weeks and Detective Lt. Jeremy Brewer are the past and present lead investigators on the case. Is there any way to find the answers,…
Black Friday, Chapter 4 – A Family Thing
Apr 14, 2018 • 40 min
Season 1, Chapter 4: We’re welcomed into the home of Tanya Skelton. We get into the alleged abuse of her own sons and John’s family’s take on what he did or didn’t do. Tanya also reveals what built her back up after an emotional breakdown.
Black Friday, Chapter 5 – Me, Myself and John
Apr 14, 2018 • 24 min
Season 1, Chapter 5: With his three sons missing, John sits inside a Michigan prison cell. He doesn’t seem worried, but he also doesn’t seem to feel guilty. Hear John tell his story, for the first time, in his own words.
Black Friday, Chapter 6 – A Simpler Story
Apr 14, 2018 • 25 min
Season 1, Chapter 6: John Skelton’s stories change every time he tells them. One that has been told, more than once, is that he gave his children to the Amish. Because they are such a private people, there’s no record of their thoughts on this…
Black Friday, Chapter 7 – Holiday Road
Apr 14, 2018 • 30 min
Season 1, Chapter 7: Early morning, Black Friday, 2010, John Skelton’s cell phone registers to cell phone towers between Morenci, Michigan and Holiday City, Ohio. Somewhere along this route is where police believe he made his children disappear. Lead…
Black Friday, Chapter 8 – Southern Discomfort
Apr 14, 2018 • 36 min
Season 1, Chapter 8: John Skelton’s family in Morenci stays tight-lipped about the case. His mother, father and sister live a thousand miles away in Florida. Jeremy Allen heads to Jacksonville, seeking a perspective we haven’t yet heard.
Black Friday, Chapter 9 – Missoula, Montana
Apr 14, 2018 • 27 min
Season 1: Chapter 9: As investigators work the Skelton case in Michigan, something pops up, but way off their radar. Human remains are found in Missoula, Montana – the remains of 3 kids. Lead Investigator Jeremy Brewer and Tanya try to figure out a…
Black Friday, Chapter 10 – Dear John
Apr 14, 2018 • 32 min
Season 1, Chapter 10: John Skelton has been silent for the better part of a decade. WDIV’s Sandra Ali and Jeremy Allen do their best to get him to speak. In the meantime, police bring someone with Amish ties to confront John.
Black Friday, Chapter 11 – Inmate #812593
Apr 14, 2018 • 35 min
Season 1, Chapter 11: After the exchange of letters, a visit to the prison and many emails, John Skelton calls us on the phone. The public will hear John’s words in his own voice for the first time in several years. He talks about his meeting with Mose…
Black Friday, Chapter 12 – Getting to the Point
Apr 14, 2018 • 26 min
Season 1, Chapter 12: Tanner, Alexander and Andrew Skelton’s whereabouts continue to be a mystery. Their father, John has kept the information needed to crack the case locked up inside his head, but now he’s talking. In our second conversation on the…