The People Stack Podcast

The People Stack Podcast

podcast.thepeoplestack.com
What happens at the intersection of People, Work and Technology? Join us at the People Stack to see.
39: Eugene Geis talks about working with people while working with data, EQ versus IQ and more
Jan 14 • 47 min
Data Scientist Eugene Geis ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/eugenegeis) from the Deluxe Corporation (https://www.deluxe.com/) stops by the People Stack to talk about data, stats, the metaphors which are helpful when explaining stats, and some applications of…
38: Lauri Apple and Paul Adams from Zalando talk about mindset, context and creating an environment for the success of your team
Jan 1 • 41 min
Lauri Apple is a Producer, Agile Coach and Open Source advocate for Zalando (http://www.zalando.com/), one the of the largest fashion retailers in Europe. She stopped by the People Stack with Engineering Lead, Paul Adams to talk about how they craft a…
37: Kay Rhodes talks about the importance of the journey, finding meaning in your work and more
Dec 12, 2017 • 41 min
Kay Rhodes took a winding path to get to his current role as a tech lead and that's the way he likes his vacations too. Kay stopped by the People Stack to talk about the life of a tech lead, enjoying the journey in both work and play, the importance of…
36: Jessica Noble of Wayfair talks about getting feedback, the cost of meetings, and more
Nov 26, 2017 • 45 min
Jessica Noble (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jess-noble-33b6203b/ ) from http://www.Wayfair.com stops by the People Stack to talk about finding the signal in the noise of leadership information, how her teams define how expensive a meeting is, leadership…
35: Melissa + Johnathan Nightingale on their best-seller How F*cked Up is Your Management
Nov 12, 2017 • 46 min
Note: This one uses the F word a lot. Melissa and Johnathan Nightingale, founders of The Raw Signal Group (https://www.rawsignal.ca/ ) each have 20 years of tech experience and they brought it to the People Stack to chat about bad bosses, bad assumptions,…
34: Michael Lopp talks teams, growth, landing his dream job, and where leadership comes from
Oct 29, 2017 • 48 min
Michael Lopp (http://randsinrepose.com) stops by the People Stack to talk about landing his dream job as VP of Engineering at Slack (https://slack.com), the systems he uses to stay productive, battling the culture of busy, career paths in engineering, and…
33: Johanna Rothman talks TRS-80, project problems are really people problems and more
Oct 15, 2017 • 45 min
Author and Agile Consultant Johanna Rothman (https://www.jrothman.com/blogs) stops by the People Stack to talk about Culture, the impact of the TRS-80 on tech, and yes, Agile methodologies. Check out Johanna’s latest Book “Create Your Successful Agile…
32: Russell Matthews dispels common myths about work family balance and more
Sep 24, 2017 • 42 min
Russell Matthews ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/russell-matthews-6097674 ), Associate Professor in the Department of Management at The University of Alabama, stops by the People Stack to dispel some common myths online about managing your time between work…
31: Nick Caldwell VP of Eng at Reddit talks team building, hiring, and more
Sep 10, 2017 • 42 min
Nick Caldwell (https://www.linkedin.com/in/nickcaldwell), VP of Engineering at Reddit.com stops by the People Stack to talk about hiring practices, building great teams, the importance of diverse backgrounds in those teams, and developing leaders to…
30: Jean Hsu talks about the transition to leadership then to entrepreneur and more
Aug 26, 2017 • 45 min
Jean Hsu (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeanyhsu) has worked at companies big and small, fast and slow and is now a full-time Tech Leadership Coach and writer. Check out her writing on Medium (https://writing.jeanhsu.com). Jean stopped by the People Stack…
29: Elyse Hammond talks about the role of HR, pay and transformational leadership
Aug 12, 2017 • 45 min
Elyse Hammond,(https://www.linkedin.com/in/elysehammond) HR Generalist for GSK (http://www.gsk.com) stops by the People Stack to talk about the changing role of HR, just who's job IS IT to fill out pesky I9 forms, how pay influences motivation,…
28: Technical coach Marcus Blankenship talks one-on-ones coding while managing and more
Jul 3, 2017 • 49 min
Technical coach, author and former coder Marcus Blankenship (https://www.linkedin.com/in/marcusblankenship) stops by the People Stack to talk about how much you should code as a manager, how to better handle your 1:1s, surviving your battlefield promotion…
27: Spencer Varadi of Speed and Function talks IO Psych and
Jun 11, 2017 • 49 min
Spencer Varadi (https://www.linkedin.com/in/spencervaradi/), Director of Product at Speed and Function (https://speedandfunction.com/#!about) stops by the People Stack to talk about how we can use the ONet database to make better career choices, how his…
26: Jess Gallus of the US Army SHARP office talks harassment and prevention
May 21, 2017 • 41 min
Jessica Gallus (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jessica-gallus-360b805/) of the US Army Sexual Harassment/Assault Response Program (http://www.sexualassault.army.mil/ ) stops by the People Stack to talk about augmenting the people skills of strong…
25: Mike Johnson of Mass TLC talks hiring, pay transparency and more
May 7, 2017 • 42 min
Mike Johnson (https://www.linkedin.com/in/michaelpjohnson/), Director of Communities & Technology at Mass TLC stops by the People Stack to talk about the benefits of MassTLC membership, pay transparency, the current hiring climate, and the addition of his…
24: Andrew Ramsden of Alpha Transform talks about the 6 tech management Superpowers
Apr 22, 2017 • 46 min
Andrew Ramsen (https://www.linkedin.com/in/irama), CEO of Alpha Transform and host of the Alpha Geek Podcast (https://www.alphatransform.com.au/alpha-geek-podcast/), stops by the People Stack to talk about his journey, the 6 superpowers of tech management…
23: Taras Mankovski of This Dot uses his business brain to talk mentoring, making a company
Apr 2, 2017 • 43 min
Taras Mankovski (https://www.linkedin.com/in/tarasm/), @EmberSherpa on Twitter and CTO of https://www.thisdot.co/ stops by the People Stack to talk about Mentorship as a Service, creating a Company for helping people, and how to provide meaningful…
22: Luke Stevens of Berklee Online talks remote teams, custom tools and more
Mar 11, 2017 • 50 min
The People Stack drops in on Luke Stevens (https://www.linkedin.com/in/luke-stevens-875a295), CTO of Berklee Online at the Berklee College of Music (https://online.berklee.edu/) to talk about building tools for online education, leading a mixed team of…
21: Ali Greene from Duck Duck Go talks about people operations across timezones and more
Feb 26, 2017 • 45 min
Ali Greene (https://www.linkedin.com/in/greeneali) of Duck, Duck, Go (https://duckduckgo.com/) answers the question of the ages: what does it mean to "go to work" when you work remotely? Also, hear how a recent work-cation to Japan highlighted people…
20: Rhiannon Chiacchiaro of Deep Core Data talks about the human side of IT
Feb 12, 2017 • 45 min
Rhiannon Chiacchiaro (https://www.linkedin.com/in/rhichi), the Director of Marketing and Technical Documentation Services at Deep Core Data (https://www.deepcoredata.com/) stops by the People Stack to talk about the 4 C's of good tech documentation, the…
19: Katie Greenman of HumanSide talks improv comedy, research and more
Feb 5, 2017 • 36 min
Katie Greenman (https://www.linkedin.com/in/katiegreenman) of HumanSide (http://www.thehumansideof.us/) stops by the People Stack to talk about how listening from your heart can make you a more balanced person and how grad school and Improv comedy changed…
18: Constance Ip of New York Code + Design Academy talks about training and wine
Jan 22, 2017 • 33 min
Constance Ip (https://www.linkedin.com/in/constanceip) of New York Code + Design Academy (https://nycda.com/) joins the People Stack to talk about their merger with Strayer University, training new developers, being part of a distributed team, and…
17: Tracy Lee talks Javascript, being a serial entrepreneur and being yourself in public
Jan 15, 2017 • 44 min
@ladyleet (https://www.linkedin.com/in/tracyslee)of ThisDot (http://www.this-dot.com/) stops by the People Stack to talk about the life-changing experience of learning Javascript, starting and running companies, staying positive in the face of adversity,…
16: Sam Glasberg from Stitch talks hiring and getting acquired
Jan 1, 2017 • 48 min
Samantha Glasberg (https://www.linkedin.com/in/samantha-glasberg-5504171a) from Stitch (https://www.stitchdata.com/) stops by the People Stack to about people management while growing a startup and getting acquired. Sam and Jen also talk about hiring,…
15: Dawn McDougall of Code for Philly talks about community, tech and civic engagement
Dec 18, 2016 • 38 min
Dawn McDougall(https://www.linkedin.com/in/dawnmcdougall), Executive Director of Code for Philly (https://codeforphilly.org/) stops by the People Stack to talk about managing and leading for civic tech for the betterment of the city of Philadelphia and…
14: Yuval Yarden talks startups, culture and establishing a tech community
Nov 20, 2016 • 40 min
Yuval Yarden (https://www.linkedin.com/in/yyarden), Program Director at Philly Startup Leaders (http://phillystartupleaders.org/) talks about getting into tech, working to grow the Philadelphia start-up scene, managing in an non-profit and how she got to…
13: Sarah Johnson from TechGirlz talks workshops, STEM education and all things Geek
Nov 12, 2016 • 49 min
Sarah Johnson (http://www.techgirlz.org/team/sarah-johnson/), National Outreach Manager for TechGirlz stops by the People Stack to talk about STEM education opportunities for middle school girls, running a workshop using their TechSHOPZ-in-a-box, and the…
12: Carlee Myers from APOP Studios talks mindset, art and tech
Nov 6, 2016 • 38 min
Carlee Myers (https://www.linkedin.com/in/carlee-myers-99410b56) from APOP Studios (https://apopstudios.com/) stops by the People Stack to talk about tech in art, mindset shifts required for creative work and workers, pricing your creative works and how…
11: Thomas Guidotti of Omne Solutions talks about autonomy, estimation and being a CEO
Oct 23, 2016 • 26 min
Thomas Guidotti(https://www.linkedin.com/in/thomas-guidotti-7a656435), CEO of Omne Solutions (http://omnesolutions.com/) stops by the People Stack to talk about the balancing act that is autonomy, building better meetings, and helping clients to help…
10: Felicia Jadczak & Rachel Murray from She Geeks Out geek out and talk about building SGO
Oct 5, 2016 • 43 min
Felica Jadczak (https://www.linkedin.com/in/feliciajadczak)and Rachel Murray (https://www.linkedin.com/in/rachelmurray) from She Geeks Out (https://www.shegeeksout.com/)talk about their origin story, alter egos, and generally let their geek flags…
9: Vasilios Alexiou from FirmPlay talks about recruiting, travel, and working remotely
Sep 18, 2016 • 46 min
Vasilios Alexiou (https://www.linkedin.com/in/vasiliosalexiou), VP of Product at FirmPlay (http://www.firmplay.com/) talks about how marketing your company's culture can help with recruiting, the remote working challenges for a distributed team, and being…
8: Matthew Mausner of Woxxer talks Surveys and Startups
Sep 5, 2016 • 44 min
Matthew Mausner (https://www.linkedin.com/in/matthewmausner) of Woxxer stops by the People Stack to talk about Surveys that Don't Suck, using Woxxer's multidimensional tools to extract more meaningful survey data, the defining characteristics of a "Start…
7: Ben Rubin of 10% Happier talks about meditation, hiring and being mindful
Aug 25, 2016 • 39 min
Ben Rubin (https://www.linkedin.com/in/bsrubin), CEO and Co-Founder of 10% Happier (http://www.10percenthappier.com) drops by the People Stack to talk about staying mindful in a connected world and how meditation can strength-train your brain for…
6: Ben Bock talks about mindfulness, Entrepreneurship and I/O Psychology
Jul 31, 2016 • 39 min
Benjamin Bock (http://www.bbock.co/) joins the People Stack to talk about his mindfulness-based wellness programs, being an entrepreneur in the tech space, and the role of I/O psychology in wellness. Special Guest: Ben Bock.
5: Karla Driskill of Hollister Institute talks Ontology, Mindfulness and Meditation
Jul 17, 2016 • 41 min
The Director of Hollister Institute (hollisterstaff.com/hollister-institute), Karla Driskill (https://www.linkedin.com/in/karla-driskill-07351210) drops by the People Stack to talk with Jen about Hollister's workshops, how mindfulness can help bring you…
4: Cathy Swody talks about Mentoring, Resources for learning and more!
Jun 26, 2016 • 43 min
Guest Cathy Swody of Thrive Leadership (linkedin.com/in/swody)joins the People Stack to talk about finding a mentor and what to do when the perfect mentor isn't available. She also goes over some valuable learning techniques and talks about bringing her…
3: Chris Spear talks about Enterprise Architecture and Interviewing Developers
Jun 26, 2016 • 44 min
Chief Architect Chris Spear (linkedin.com/in/spearc) joins the People Stack to talk about the role of an enterprise architect, the proliferation of tech in all forms of business, and hiring developers. Special Guest: Chris Spear.
2: Introducing the People Stack Podcast with Jen and Rob
Jun 25, 2016 • 39 min
Your hosts Jen Bunk (jenbunk.com) and Rob Allen (linkedin.com/in/robspages) interview each other in the inaugural People Stack Podcast episode
Mindfulness Chat
Jun 24, 2016 • 47 min
Mindfulness Chat by Jen Bunk